Necessary

In two hours’ time, I will be leaving my house to go to John Wayne Airport to fly out to my new home in New York. It’s interesting to hear friends who have known me for many years tell me, “You’re finally living your dream! You’re finally going to your dream city! You’ve been dreaming of this for years!” True, some people grow up dreaming about finding the perfect husband or having the perfect job. For me, my ultimate dream was to live in New York City. Plain and simple. That’s all I could talk about, write about, pray about, think about.

To say that New York is still my dream, in my heart, feels almost like an insult to the life I have already. I would argue that whether it is intentional or not, to categorize this new journey I’m about to embark on as my dream is to categorize my present life as second-rate and of lesser value. When I was younger and New York was the dream, I would have instantaneously admitted, “I’m unsatisfied with my present life and I want to leave.”

I’m looking forward to my new life and the new lessons and experiences that God has in store for me. But, as clichéd, lovey-dovey, and chick-flicky as this will sound, I will sacrifice my dignity to say it anyway: I really am and have been living the dream. Friends who love me and have taught me the meaning of love and forgiveness, family who pummel me to my wits’ end but will be there for me no matter what, an always-growing relationship with Eric that has given me renewed hope in love between two people, and a loving Father who is always so gracious, merciful, and just.

In literal terms, the French’s farewell phrase adieu means à Dieu: to God. So, rather than signing off with, “This isn’t a goodbye, but a see you later,” which is a promise that I ultimately have no real control over whether or not I can keep, I leave my home in the Golden State and life as I know it with this:

I bid you all adieu. Goodnight, California.

2 thoughts on “Necessary

  1. You always have, and will continue to, do great things in your life. I am so very excited for you and this new chapter in your life and I wish you nothing but the best.
    Until we meet again. =]
    -BG

Leave a Reply

